Our Committee



Eithne Fitzgerald - Chair

Eithne served as Head of Policy and Research at the National Disability Authority 2003 until 2016. She previously worked in the Department of Finance, the National Economic and Social Council, at Threshold, and as a lecturer in the social policy at both University College Dublin and Trinity College, Dublin. She is a former Minister of State, and introduced the Ethics in Public Office Act and the Freedom of Information Act. She was a member of the Commission on Social Welfare and chaired the Task Force on Violence Against Women. She is a board member of the National Advocacy Service for People with Disabilities.



Dr. Vivienne Byers - Vice-chair

Vivienne lectures in health policy and planning in the College of Business at Dublin Institute of Technology. She also lectures as adjunct faculty in University College Dublin in healthcare management. Her research is in health, as well as sustainability policy. She is currently undertaking a number of funded research projects in healthcare policy, sustainability, consumption & health, as well as ICT implementation in collaboration with Ulster University, TCD and Eastern Michigan University. She publishes and presents extensively, including internationally, in the area of policy and management.



Dr. Angela Palmer - Secretary

Angela has worked as a policy analyst, political journalist, and animal welfare advocate in Ireland, the UK, and the United States. She holds a BA in European Politics and Law, and a Masters degree in political science. She obtained her doctorate from UCD in February 2020. Angela's research focuses on Irish foster children's experienes of adoption and the analysis of adoption law reform in Ireland. She has contributed to the DCYA Policy Debate on Open and Semi-Open Adoption and the Irish Foster Care Association Working Group Position Paper on domestic adoption reform in Ireland. Angela is a board member of the European Society on Family Relations. 



Michelle Murphy - Treasurer

Michelle is Research and Policy Analyst with Social Justice Ireland. She has done several pieces of research on social policy, with particular focus on the European Union and on issues realted to income distribution, poverty and social inclusion. She has two Masters degrees, one in Social Justice & Public Policy (DCU) and one in European Studies (UCD). She is a member of the steering committee of Basic Income Ireland, and a trustee of Feasta. 



Dr. Ann Stokes - Newsletter Officer

Ann is a Postdoctoral Researcher with the ENRICH research programme at the Department of Psychology, Maynooth University. She was awarded her PhD by Trinity College in 2015 for her thesis exploring the experiences of men who provide care in the context of dementia. She also holds a BA in Social Science and an MA in Social Policy from University College Dublin. She has a vast range of research experience, including with the Care Alliance Ireland, the School of Nursing and Midwifery (TCD), the Institutes of Technology of Ireland, the Vincentian Partnership for Social Justice, and University College Dublin.



Eamon Murphy - Website Officer
Eamon is Economic and Social Analyst at Social Justice Ireland
. He holds a BA in Economics and Politics from UCD, and an MA in Social Justice & Public Policy from DCU. His main research interests include labour market economics, welfare reform, international trade, pension reform, and taxation. He is a committee member of the Pension Policy Research Group, and formerly an adjunct lecturer at Maynooth University. He has been Website Officer for the ISPA since 2013.



Eoin Carroll 

Eoin is Policy and Public Affairs Manager for Extern. He previously worked in the Jesuit Centre for Faith and Justice in the role of Deputy Director with responsibility for managing the Centre's social policy prgoramme and its communication. Eoin also has experience of working in service provision with Focus Ireland. His policy areas of interest include: housing and homelessness, criminal justice, and the role of the voluntary sector. He previously served as Secretary of the ISPA for three years.



Dr. Micheál Collins

Micheál is Assistant Professor of Social Policy at University College Dublin, prior to which he was a Senior Economist at the Nevin Economic Reserach Institute. He was a member of Ireland’s Commission on Taxation (2008-2009) and the Government’s Advisory Group on Tax and Social Welfare (2011-2014). Currently a member of the National Competitiveness Council, the TCD Pensions Policy Research Group and the Living Wage Technical Group, he is also a fellow of the Regional Studies Association (FeRSA). He has served on the ISPA committee in a number of roles since 2004, including as Chair from 2013 to 2016.



Dr. Geoffrey Cook

Geoffrey is an occasional lecturer in Social Policy at Maynooth University. He previously taught at University College Dublin for several decades, and is a long-serving ISPA committee member.




Odran Reid

Odran lectures in spatial planning at TU Dublin and is Chair of the college’s Spatial Planning MSc Programme. He has worked with Northside Partnership, NorDubCo and the Institute of International and European Affairs. Odran is chairperson of Northside Counselling Service and a director of Northside Homecare Board. He is involved in the Public Participation Networks in both Fingal and Dublin City, and is a member of the DCC Planning and Property Development SPC, as well as the Economic Development and Enterprise SPC. He is secretary of the Irish Branch of the Institute of Economic Development. 


lorna roe

Dr. Lorna Roe

Lorna is a Postdoctoral Fellow with the Centre for Health Policy and Management, Trinity College Dublin. Lorna's research interests include health policy, health economics and social gerentology. She was previously ISPA secretary for three years, and has also served as Vice-chair.



Other ISPA committee members are Sarah Craig, Dr. Catherine-Anne Field, and Justyna Szewczyk.


Print Email